Chapter 2 << Contents >>

Chapter 3: User/Group Account Management

3.1 New User Registration

For a new user registration, do the following:

  1. Click on the add user icon.
  2. OR

  3. The add new user dialog will now appear.

  4. Now you can enter the user's account information. In this example, a new user "petersmith" is being created

  5. After you have entered the user's information successfully, you should see the following message

You can also specify the name of a user to be used as a template for the new user. The new user will have the same contact list as the exiting user that is being used as the template. The new user will also be added automatically to the contact list of every user on the template. The new user and the user being used as the template will also be added to each other's contact list. The new user will also be created with the same access priviledge as the template. Any existing user can be used as a template, but please also see the note about using a special "template user" below. If the "Add new user to everyone's contact list" option is also checked, then the new user will be created using the template as outlined above, then he/she will be added to everyone's contact list, and everybody else not on the template will be placed into the default "Co-Workers" group.

A user template is created just like any other user account, except that the name starts with the special character '%'. This account will behave just like any other account (you can even login to this account) except for the following two points.

When a new user, say "bob" is created using the "%manager" account, then bob's contact list will be exactly the same as %manager's (and %manager itself will not be in there)

A template user will NOT be added to other user's account when the template is created. Suppose "%sales" is created using account "alice" as the template. Then everyone on alice's contact list will be in the "%sales" template, but "%sales" will not appear in their accounts.

3.2 Disable User's Account

To disable a user's account, do the following:

  1. Select the user account you want to disable and then right mouse click. In this example a user petersmith's account is being disabled
  2. The properties dialog will now appear, in this example it is showing "disable account petersmith" check box is set. Press OK to disable the account

3.3 Remove User from Server

To permanently remove a user from the server, do the following:

  1. Select the user you want to remove and then right mouse click. In this example a user "petersmith" is being removed
  2. The remove user warning dialog will now appear.

3.4 Change User Password

To change the password of a user, do the following:

  1. Select the user you want to remove and then right mouse click. In this example a user "petersmith" password is being changed
  2. Now the change password dialog will appear

3.5 Change User's Contact List

Please note that the user must be offline for the admin to modify his/her account. If the user is online, then he/she will be logged off by the system. While the admin is modifying the contact list, the user's account will be disabled (if it was enabled)

To modify the contact list of a user, do the following:

  1. Select the user you want to modify and then right mouse click. In this example a user "petersmith" contact list is selected to be modified
  2. If the user was online, then the following dialog will ask you if you want to force the user offline
  3. If you pressed yes, then the following dialog will inform you that the user's account is temporarily disabled.
  4. Now you can modify the user's contact list. You can also drag-and-drop users from the admin's contact list into the user's contact list
  5. Once you have finished modifying the user's contact list, then from the File menu, select "Save"

3.6 Change User's Account Access Rights

To change the Account Access Rights of a user, do the following:

  1. Select the user you want to change the Account Access Rights and then right mouse click. In this example a user "petersmith" access rights is being changed
  2. Now select the "Permission" tab, and the following will appear. In this example, the user is allowed to modify contact list, it is a trusted user, and the user is allowed to send files
  3. Allowed to modify contact list: If this option is unchecked then the user can not modify his/her contact list. Only the admin will be able to do that.

    Trusted User: Only trusted users are allowed to contact anyone in their contact list (i.e., to start chat/conference, send notification/files, etc). If this option is unchecked then the user can only chat and send notification to a trusted user (but can not start a conference). Two untrusted users can not contact each another directly.

    This is useful, for example, in a school computer lab so that teachers can talk to students and students to teachers, but students can not chat with each other.This can also be used to setup guest accounts (along with the ability to modify the contact list disabled) in the system so that they can only contact a limited number of users (say their sales contacts) but not other guests.

    Allowed To Send Files: if this option is enabled, then the user is allowed to send files

    By default, all new users are created with all options enabled. To change the default option for new uses, login as admin and choose Action | Contact | Advanced | New Permissions. Note that this is for users that are created without the use of templates. When a template is used new users are created with the access rights specified for the template.

3.7 Change Group Access Rights

Besides specifying the access rights on a per user basis, the admin can also specify the access rights on a per group basis. To set the acess rights for a group,

If the "override" column is checked, then the group access right will override the user's individual access right. For example. If the override column is checked and the option "Allowed to modify contact list" itself is unchecked for group "Guest" (i.e., the "Guest" group can not modifiy its contact list") then if user alice is put into group "Guest" then she can not change her contact list, regardless of the setting for the alice account set via the user's own property page.

If a user belongs to more than one group, then the access level is the union of the access right of all the groups that he/she belongs to. For example, if alice is in both group "Sales" and "Manager", and if people in "Sales" are not allowed to modify their contact list but users in "Manager" are allowed to, then alice is allowed to modify her contact list.

New groups are created with "override" unchecked, so that the users in these groups simply have their own individual access rights.

The access level of each user is then the access level set for that user level, in combination with the access level set for the groups that the user belongs to. To see this "effective accessl level", you can right click on the users and select "Property", then go to the "Information" tab. At the bottom you can see the "effect access level" of the users, which can be different from the access set in the "Permissions" page if the group access level is turned on. You can also see this information from the tooltip and the quick info for the users.

To change the Group Access Rights, do the following:

  1. Select the group you want to modify the access rights and then right mouse click.
  2. The following dialog will be displayed showing the details of the access rights of the group and also its user's individial access rights.
  3. To modify the access rights of the group, change to the "Access" tab and the following dialog will appear.
  4. To override the group access rights to NOT allowed to modify contact list, NOT trusted user, and NOT allowed to send files, you should set the override check box as follows:
  5. To override the group access rights to ALLOWED to modify contact list, IS a TRUSTED user, and ALLOWED to send files, you should set the override check box as follows

Chapter 2 << Contents