Chapter 1 << Contents >> Chapter 3

Chapter 2: Initial Set Up

2.1 Setting Up Your Information

This is the information that other contacts will see when they look up information about you. Therefore, if you are signing on for the first time, you should check your user information and enter the information accordingly.

To view your information:

  1. Select “File -> Contact Info...”.

  2. This will pop up the “Edit Contact Information” window where you can enter or modify your user information.

  3. Press the "OK" button to save your changes and close the window.

2.2 Adding/Removing/Renaming User Groups

To start you off, four groups are already available for you to use: Co-Workers, Friends, New-Users and Offline. You can change or delete all of these groups, except for “Offline”.

To add a group:

  1. Press the “Add Group” button on your toolbar.

    OR

    OR

    OR

  2. This will pop up the “Add New Group” box:

  3. Enter the new group name and press the “OK” button.

To delete a group:

If there are users listed under the group you wish to delete you will need to remove them first. If you don’t know how please refer to the “Adding/Removing Users” section.

  1. Select the group that you want to remove by clicking on it.

  2. Select “Action -> Contact List -> Delete Group”.

    OR

  3. A confirmation box pop up, press the “Yes” button to proceed with the deletion.

    .: Side Note :.

    Uncheck the “Ask this question next time” if you wish to directly remove the group and by-pass this safety confirmation question.

To rename a group:

  1. Select the group that you want to rename by clicking on it.

  2. Select “Action -> Contact List -> Rename Group".

    OR

  3. This will pop up the property box for this group.

  4. Select the "Modify” tab and enter the new name.

  5. Press the “OK” button to save your changes and close the window.

Organizing Your User Groups

  1. Select the group you want to move.

  2. Left click and hold your mouse button.

  3. Drag & drop the group to where you wish it to be.

2.3 Adding/Removing Contacts

To add a contact:

  1. Press the “Add Contact” button on your toolbar.

    OR

    OR

  2. This will pop up the “Add To Contact List” box.

  3. Enter the name of the new contact and press the “Find” button.

  4. When the user has been found, the “Setup Group Membership” window will appear with all the groups available. Place the new contact in all the groups you wish him/her to appear in and press the “Next” button.

    .: Hint :.

    You don’t have to use the arrow buttons to move the groups between the columns. You can drag & drop the groups between the “All groups” and “Belongs to”.

  5. The “Private Annotation for...” box will appear. You can enter additional notes about the new user if you wish. Press the “Next” button.

  6. The “Permissions” box will appear. This allows you to set up what the new user will be able to see about you.

  7. A “Final Confirmation” box will appear. To proceed with the addition of the new contact press the “Finish” button.

To delete a contact:

The following steps are to remove a contact from a group. If you wish to remove a contact completely from your list, you will need to remove the user from all but one of the groups first, then following the same steps, remove the user from the final group.

.: Hint :.

If the user belongs to several groups the best method is to bring up the user properties and removing him/her from the groups. For details see the final method in step #2.

  1. Select the contact that you wish to remove by clicking on it.

  2. Press the “Delete” button on your keyboard.

    OR

    OR

    OR

    This is the best method to remove a user from several groups. However, since a user must belong to a group this method will not work if the contact belongs to only one group.

  3. A confirmation box will pop up. Press the “Yes” button to remove the user.

    .: Side Note :.

    If you chose the last method in step #2 there will be no confirmation box.

2.4 Populating the User Groups

Once you have your groups and users set up you can organize them into groups so that you can quickly set up for conferences, notifications, etc.

The user method:

  1. Right click your mouse button on the user you want to organize.

  2. Select “Properties”.

    OR

  3. This will pop up the property settings for the user.

  4. Select the “Group” tab.

  5. To add the contact to more groups just select the groups that you want under the “All groups” column and drag & drop them to the “Belongs to” column. Do the reverse if you wish to remove the user from the group(s).

  6. Click the “OK” button.

The group method:

  1. Right click your mouse button on the group you want to organize.

  2. Select “Properties”.

    OR

  3. Select the “Modify” tab.

  4. To add contacts, select the user(s) under the “Not in group” column and drag & drop them to the “In group” column. Do the reverse if you wish to remove the user from the group(s).

  5. Click the “OK” button.

    .: Side Note :.

    The “Reset” button will undo any changes that you have made and revert back to the previous setting.

Moving users between groups:

  1. Select the user(s).

  2. Drag & drop to the desired group.

Copying users between groups:

  1. Select the users.
  2. Drag the users toward the destination group.

  3. Press and hold the Ctrl key (You should see a little plus sign) beside the mouse cursor.

  4. Release both the mouse button and the Ctrl key when the mouse is over the destination group.

Chapter 1 << Contents >> Chapter 3